1888 | Moreland Station
Series 01 | Part 2/7
Brunswick's building blocks
Place: Moreland Station
Today Moreland Station stands as a monolith of sorts of another time. It's a monument to the Arrow of Time: in that it provides physical evidence of our past. We experience our lives through the Arrow of Time. It frames how we observe our world: as a series of before and after; of cause and effect; of a world increasing in disorder and complexity.
Constructed in 1888, Moreland Station embodies the aspirations of its time to ‘Advance Australia Fair’. Contrary to the original survey plans created in 1839 that marked the area for farmland with large lots and just one central access road (now Sydney Road): by 1888 Brunswick (in the Parish of Jika Jika) had grown into a burgeoning township. ‘Phillipstown’, situated within Brunswick defined the heart of Brunswick’s brick and pottery industries, and though the origin of its name is not certain – it’s thought to have derived from the views of Port Phillip as sited from it’s higher grounds. Uptake of land in the Parish was initially slow – and prior to the rise of the brick industry – Coburg (then known as Pentridge) had been a convenient stop en-route to the goldfields of Central Victoria. Brick-making expertise arrived in Brunswick in 1849 with Cornishman Thomas Manallack, and the subsequent discovery of natural clay-fields set the scene for the local brick industry to shape what we now know as the City of Moreland and indeed much of Melbourne. Brunswick was the epicentre of the Parish at this time – and had experienced a marked population growth – in 1888 it’s population had risen to 14,792: fuelled by the burgeoning brick industry.
Stay tuned for more field tests: marking time in and around Brunswick and Moreland Station for the duration of MoreArts 2016, October 23 - December 18.
To share this page click on the social media buttons below…